Ten Minutes of Truth!

A Writing Prompt

Tammy Breitweiser
2 min readDec 23, 2019
Photo by Khadeeja Yasser on Unsplash

I have always written. I have always given myself writing assignments. Maybe it is the teacher in me — or maybe I just like the springboard of a starting point even if it is just one word.

Last week I heard someone say you don’t have to remind her to eat or breathe and it is the same for her writing. Being a writer has always been who I am, and now I have established rituals for my writing practice.

There are two noticings I will share with you today about my own writing journey that may help you as a writer: Truth and Lists of 10.

Truth

To improve my writing craft I purchased Masterclass for myself in January. One of the threads that permeates through Neil Gaiman’s, R.L. Stine’s, Margaret Atwood’s, and Judy Blume’s Masterclass is writers must tell their truth.

How you see the world and how you tell your stories is important. Your light needs to shine through and writers do this by opening our hearts. This light is truth. YOU need to shine through. If truth scares you, especially writing in front of students, you can write first and then selectively share what is most powerful and appropriate for your lesson. You can also choose lines from authors your students will connect with and borrow their famous lines to help your student writers find and…

--

--